Way cool

So, I stopped on a plant nursery on the way home to pick up a few more flower seeds. I was hoping for marigolds and primroses, but the pickin’s are still kinda slim. I could understand that in some place cold, but here in the South…? Don’t get it.

Anyhow, I got some larkspur, some sweet peas for our new lamp post, and something called fragrant stock. And I got some dahlias too, big ones called Caribbean Fantasy and Strawberry Ice. I want to eat that one. 🙂

And when I got home I discovered that the cucumber that was peeking out this morning is standing up tall and the tomatoes are comin’ right up!

But the really exciting thing is the plant I found at the nursery. I wasn’t even looking for plants. I was wandering around trying to find someone who could tell me how to store my dahlia tubers, and I found this plant. It’s a Euphorbia wulfenii.

Euphorbia wulfenii plant

Isn’t it cool?! It’s so architectural, like a palm tree with flowers on top.

Here’s a shot of the blossoms.

Euphorbia wulfenii blossoms

And best of all…the gardener said that it even makes little baby plants.  🙂

4 responses to “Way cool

  1. That plant is far out! How tall is it?

  2. Vanessa (Parrott) Roskam

    Next time you are in Greenville, I need to get you out to my mom’s greenhouse. You’d love the array of plants there. :o)

    And I’m following your example with the patio plants– I have 4 tomato plants, a small herb garden pot, and 3 flower plants all growing on my porch.

  3. That would be a lot of fun! 🙂

  4. Tim, I’m totally sorry that I missed answering your question somehow. It’s about eighteen inches tall, although I think it’s supposed to get to be about three feet.

Leave a Reply

